wikipedia-api-cdsw
5 years agoupdated wikipedia project to fix windows encoding issue master
Benjamin Mako Hill [Fri, 23 Oct 2015 04:25:12 +0000 (21:25 -0700)]
updated wikipedia project to fix windows encoding issue

5 years agoremove unnecessary comment with typo
Benjamin Mako Hill [Mon, 27 Apr 2015 21:21:21 +0000 (14:21 -0700)]
remove unnecessary comment with typo

5 years agoadded a version of the final program that writes to a file
Benjamin Mako Hill [Tue, 21 Apr 2015 00:15:19 +0000 (17:15 -0700)]
added a version of the final program that writes to a file

5 years agorevamped the wikipedia project
Benjamin Mako Hill [Mon, 20 Apr 2015 23:58:59 +0000 (16:58 -0700)]
revamped the wikipedia project

- removed mwclient (requests params argument is basically good enough)
- shows examples that uses params and that do it the "hard way" to show what it's doing
- added examples for getting pages in category and categories for a page

5 years agotwo quick updates to the raw files
Benjamin Mako Hill [Mon, 20 Apr 2015 22:26:35 +0000 (15:26 -0700)]
two quick updates to the raw files

- move to Python 3 (i.e., print()'ify stuff)
- requests can do JSON natively using .json() on the request object which
  solves the problem with requests returning bytes

6 years agoRemoved simplejson, updated mwclient, replaced urllib2 with requests
Frances Hocutt [Sat, 15 Nov 2014 07:40:25 +0000 (23:40 -0800)]
Removed simplejson, updated mwclient, replaced urllib2 with requests

Updated and simplified the example programs for the fall CDSW.
simplejson is replaced with json, mwclient is updated to the dev version,
and all API calls use requests (included in Anaconda) instead of urllib2.

6 years agorename files
Benjamin Mako Hill [Wed, 30 Apr 2014 22:22:00 +0000 (15:22 -0700)]
rename files

6 years agoadded example code that uses the urls
Benjamin Mako Hill [Sat, 26 Apr 2014 02:01:57 +0000 (19:01 -0700)]
added example code that uses the urls

6 years agoadded the dependencies for the wikipedia exercises
Benjamin Mako Hill [Sat, 26 Apr 2014 01:52:16 +0000 (18:52 -0700)]
added the dependencies for the wikipedia exercises

Benjamin Mako Hill || Want to submit a patch?