selectricity
15 years agoRenamed CSS and layout to move from the old name (HC) to the new name
<mako@atdot.cc> [Wed, 8 Aug 2007 14:51:56 +0000 (10:51 -0400)]
Renamed CSS and layout to move from the old name (HC) to the new name
(Selectricity).

15 years agoChanged properties to remove unecessary exectables.
<mako@atdot.cc> [Wed, 8 Aug 2007 14:18:40 +0000 (10:18 -0400)]
Changed properties to remove unecessary exectables.

15 years agoModified QuickVote table to work by object type and not by the weird
<mako@atdot.cc> [Tue, 7 Aug 2007 23:23:05 +0000 (19:23 -0400)]
Modified QuickVote table to work by object type and not by the weird
TinyInts so that we can take advantage of the single table inheritence
magic in AR.

15 years agoUpdated README to contain a list of dependencies and to offer a little
<mako@atdot.cc> [Tue, 7 Aug 2007 23:22:45 +0000 (19:22 -0400)]
Updated README to contain a list of dependencies and to offer a little
general cleanup.

15 years agoThe user model has been modified so that it stores the user object itself in the...
<jlsharps@mit.edu> [Tue, 7 Aug 2007 23:16:04 +0000 (19:16 -0400)]
The user model has been modified so that it stores the user object itself in the session[:user]. Session[:user_id] fulfills the purpose of holding the specific id. the test files were also modified to account for the changes. In addition, a couple lines in the SiteController#index method were updated tp utilize new funtionality of ActiveRecord. The changes I made to the Authenitcated user library is available here:technoweenie.stikipad.com/plugins/show/Storing+the+User+Model+in+the+Session.

15 years agoChanged the Selectricity header into a link, and modified the config/routes.rb file...
<jlsharps@mit.edu> [Tue, 7 Aug 2007 21:07:16 +0000 (17:07 -0400)]
Changed the Selectricity header into a link, and modified the config/routes.rb file to include a new named route: "graph." Use graph_url syntax to call a Gruff method from the graphs controller. Currently about to troubleshoot the user system.

15 years agoModified the methods in graphs controller so they would work for Selectricity, but...
<jlsharps@mit.edu> [Mon, 6 Aug 2007 23:56:39 +0000 (19:56 -0400)]
Modified the methods in graphs controller so they would work for Selectricity, but can't get them to successfully display yet. It seems that the 'url_for' helper might not be able to handle a :controller an argument. It doesn't throw an error, just displays nothing. I also removed various deprecated methods and replaced them with their updated counterparts in site_controller, and in some of the views. In addition I modified the confirm method in the QuickVote controller to save the time of the vote. I also changed what the voter.ip was logging because it wasn't working. Currently it says request.env["BLAH"] because I'm trying to vote multiple times in the same election for testing (not sure that jsut cahgnign the ip save feature is allowing that) but it will have to be request.env["REMOTE_ADDR"] in the long run. This is on line 108 of the QuickVote controller.

15 years agoRemoved the breakpointer from the quickvote create method.
<jlsharps@mit.edu> [Sat, 4 Aug 2007 06:57:48 +0000 (02:57 -0400)]
Removed the breakpointer from the quickvote create method.

15 years agoReorganized the README file and added a short list of dependencies.
<mako@atdot.cc> [Sat, 4 Aug 2007 06:53:26 +0000 (02:53 -0400)]
Reorganized the README file and added a short list of dependencies.

15 years agoremoved save line that was causing the new elections to fail
<mako@atdot.cc> [Sat, 4 Aug 2007 06:47:27 +0000 (02:47 -0400)]
removed save line that was causing the new elections to fail

15 years ago Well, it seems I forgot to add the acts_as_authenticated to the repository on my...
<jlsharps@mit.edu> [Sat, 4 Aug 2007 04:43:54 +0000 (00:43 -0400)]
Well, it seems I forgot to add the acts_as_authenticated to the repository on my last commit, but they're there now. Also, I recently added the Gruff graphing plugin, and created a new controller for the graphs, with a method I ported from pollarize to chart how many people have voted per day. The basic_login page works, and the create user sstem works, but is unpolished and still points to a poem as the index page, so if you read a poem, it's supposed to happen. The quickvote creation from the homepage is NOT working however, and is about to be investigated. I'm not sure how much else isn't working. I noted details abotu acts_as_authenticated adn Gruff in the README.

15 years agoI have added the acts_as_authenticated plugin to code, and have gotten VERY BASIC...
<jlsharps@mit.edu> [Tue, 31 Jul 2007 20:03:10 +0000 (16:03 -0400)]
I have added the acts_as_authenticated plugin to code, and have gotten VERY BASIC functionality. This isn't my last addition fortoday but I wanted to commit before my battery died. A lot of the detailed documentation about where to find help with acts_as_authenticated is in the README, the website is here :technoweenie.stikipad.com/plugins/show/Acts+as+Authenticated. The acts_as_authenitcated generator also heavily modifed the user class (model) but I kept theo original lines as well. I havne't begun tothrow anyting out yet, because im using it as a refernce to get the new system running.

15 years agoAdd my name to README
John Dong [Fri, 27 Jul 2007 20:16:55 +0000 (16:16 -0400)]
Add my name to README

15 years agoChanged the README to include Justin's name.
<jlsharps@mit.edu> [Fri, 27 Jul 2007 20:12:34 +0000 (16:12 -0400)]
Changed the README to include Justin's name.

15 years agoblanked readme file and created a list of contributors inside
<mako@atdot.cc> [Fri, 27 Jul 2007 19:43:07 +0000 (15:43 -0400)]
blanked readme file and created a list of contributors inside

15 years agoUpdated the system to Rails 1.2.
<mako@atdot.cc> [Wed, 18 Jul 2007 20:57:49 +0000 (16:57 -0400)]
Updated the system to Rails 1.2.

In the process, I had to completely gut the login engine which means
that parts of the site that require logins will not work at all. This
should be fixed ASAP.

15 years agochanged properties and the name of hyperchad to selectricity
<mako@atdot.cc> [Wed, 18 Jul 2007 18:28:44 +0000 (14:28 -0400)]
changed properties and the name of hyperchad to selectricity

15 years agoVariety of small changes (mostly to properties) plus a few "in the
<mako@atdot.cc> [Fri, 30 Mar 2007 14:23:37 +0000 (10:23 -0400)]
Variety of small changes (mostly to properties) plus a few "in the
field" bug fixes.

16 years agoadded page for hc-anywhere
<mako@atdot.cc> [Tue, 17 Oct 2006 17:07:22 +0000 (13:07 -0400)]
added page for hc-anywhere

16 years agoadded links to hyperchad anywhere
<mako@atdot.cc> [Tue, 17 Oct 2006 17:04:37 +0000 (13:04 -0400)]
added links to hyperchad anywhere

16 years agotiny fix
<mako@atdot.cc> [Mon, 16 Oct 2006 19:09:30 +0000 (15:09 -0400)]
tiny fix

16 years agoAdded a list of recent votes to the homepage.
<mako@atdot.cc> [Mon, 16 Oct 2006 18:47:17 +0000 (14:47 -0400)]
Added a list of recent votes to the homepage.

16 years agoA series of cosmetic improvements to quickvoting and to the general
<mako@atdot.cc> [Mon, 16 Oct 2006 17:36:51 +0000 (13:36 -0400)]
A series of cosmetic improvements to quickvoting and to the general
layout.

16 years agosmall number of cosmetic fixes to quickvotes and a minor bugfix that had
<mako@atdot.cc> [Mon, 16 Oct 2006 13:45:41 +0000 (09:45 -0400)]
small number of cosmetic fixes to quickvotes and a minor bugfix that had
confused Condorcet and the Schulze Method for QuickVotes

16 years agoadded support for drag and drop preferential quick voting
<mako@atdot.cc> [Sat, 14 Oct 2006 05:56:51 +0000 (01:56 -0400)]
added support for drag and drop preferential quick voting

16 years agoAdded the ability to do ajax adding of candidates so there is no longer
<mako@atdot.cc> [Sat, 14 Oct 2006 02:55:14 +0000 (22:55 -0400)]
Added the ability to do ajax adding of candidates so there is no longer
any need to do the parsing of the string.

16 years agoa long variety of improvements and tweaks
<mako@atdot.cc> [Fri, 13 Oct 2006 22:06:08 +0000 (18:06 -0400)]
a long variety of improvements and tweaks

16 years agofixed the string modification function and added support for a titlecase method
<mako@atdot.cc> [Thu, 12 Oct 2006 14:46:24 +0000 (10:46 -0400)]
fixed the string modification function and added support for a titlecase method

16 years agorebranded from votingbooth to hyperchad
<mako@atdot.cc> [Thu, 12 Oct 2006 14:22:00 +0000 (10:22 -0400)]
rebranded from votingbooth to hyperchad

16 years agominor cosmetic changes to the front page
<mako@atdot.cc> [Thu, 12 Oct 2006 13:43:29 +0000 (09:43 -0400)]
minor cosmetic changes to the front page

16 years agoMade a large number of mostly cosmetic fixes after a detailed
<mako@atdot.cc> [Thu, 12 Oct 2006 13:40:47 +0000 (09:40 -0400)]
Made a large number of mostly cosmetic fixes after a detailed
run-through of quickvotes. Also added support for tracking IP addresses
into the database.

16 years agoworking quickvote support created
<mako@atdot.cc> [Thu, 12 Oct 2006 01:42:18 +0000 (21:42 -0400)]
working quickvote support created

16 years agoAdded support for voting in QuickVotes.
<mako@atdot.cc> [Wed, 11 Oct 2006 19:48:31 +0000 (15:48 -0400)]
Added support for voting in QuickVotes.

16 years agoAdded initial support fo QuickVotes. There is support for the creation
<mako@atdot.cc> [Wed, 11 Oct 2006 05:34:23 +0000 (01:34 -0400)]
Added initial support fo QuickVotes. There is support for the creation
of quickvotes in the database. There is not yet support for voting in
quickvotes.

16 years agoA few major changes:
<mako@atdot.cc> [Sun, 10 Sep 2006 19:39:06 +0000 (15:39 -0400)]
A few major changes:

 * Contiue with upgrade to Rails 1.1
 * Large variety of fixes to various bits and pieces.
 * Rudimentary (and broken) support for email in two different areas.

16 years agoMostly worked on the candidate adding feature to include pictures and
<mako@atdot.cc> [Thu, 17 Aug 2006 21:16:15 +0000 (17:16 -0400)]
Mostly worked on the candidate adding feature to include pictures and
haev a better interface.

16 years agoWorking on a step-by-step workflow audit.
<mako@atdot.cc> [Thu, 17 Aug 2006 03:46:31 +0000 (23:46 -0400)]
Working on a step-by-step workflow audit.

16 years agoAdded vb layout to election controller.
<mako@atdot.cc> [Wed, 16 Aug 2006 22:28:23 +0000 (18:28 -0400)]
Added vb layout to election controller.

16 years agoOverrode a number of the new account defaults and added some of my own
<mako@atdot.cc> [Wed, 16 Aug 2006 22:12:13 +0000 (18:12 -0400)]
Overrode a number of the new account defaults and added some of my own
features.

16 years agoAdded the RoR Login-Engine and activated it on the site.
<mako@atdot.cc> [Wed, 16 Aug 2006 21:51:04 +0000 (17:51 -0400)]
Added the RoR Login-Engine and activated it on the site.

16 years agoUpgrade to Rails 1.1.
<mako@atdot.cc> [Wed, 16 Aug 2006 21:21:25 +0000 (17:21 -0400)]
Upgrade to Rails 1.1.

16 years agoAdded a new site wide design and some other bits and pieces.
<mako@atdot.cc> [Wed, 16 Aug 2006 20:57:38 +0000 (16:57 -0400)]
Added a new site wide design and some other bits and pieces.

16 years agoRenamed "elections" controller to "election."
<mako@atdot.cc> [Wed, 16 Aug 2006 19:36:30 +0000 (15:36 -0400)]
Renamed "elections" controller to "election."

16 years agoAdded processing and presentatin of results.
<mako@atdot.cc> [Wed, 16 Aug 2006 19:30:18 +0000 (15:30 -0400)]
Added processing and presentatin of results.

16 years agoAdding the rubyvote library to do the actually election-making. The only
<mako@atdot.cc> [Wed, 16 Aug 2006 19:19:42 +0000 (15:19 -0400)]
Adding the rubyvote library to do the actually election-making. The only
method supported at the moment is CloneproofSSD.

16 years agoFixed the detailed results so that they return anonymized results in
<mako@atdot.cc> [Wed, 16 Aug 2006 04:51:17 +0000 (00:51 -0400)]
Fixed the detailed results so that they return anonymized results in
aphabetical order and display vote information correct (as per tests at
least).

16 years agoRemoved extra copy of randarray.rb that was lying around in the wrong place.
<mako@atdot.cc> [Tue, 25 Jul 2006 20:46:17 +0000 (16:46 -0400)]
Removed extra copy of randarray.rb that was lying around in the wrong place.

16 years agoMajor changes in this commit over include work over several days but that was never...
<mako@atdot.cc> [Tue, 25 Jul 2006 20:45:53 +0000 (16:45 -0400)]
Major changes in this commit over include work over several days but that was never working well enough to end in a commit. These included:

* Added a voting interface so that folks can use their magic token to log into
  the system and vote.

* Expanded a variety of the existing models to accomidate the process of voting.

* Adjusted the DB to allow for storing different types of votes.

16 years agoVariety of improvements and additions:
<mako@atdot.cc> [Fri, 14 Jul 2006 22:50:49 +0000 (18:50 -0400)]
Variety of improvements and additions:

 * Much improved list screen for elections.
 * Initial voter-based interface based around tokens.
 * New uniq_token regenerating library.

Left things a little bit unstable including:

 * uniq_token should be refactored to provide only a class method.
 * voter list review page is unwritten
 * rankings are committed to the database but some sort somewhere seems
   to be botching things.

16 years agoAdded a series of files so that elections can be created and edited and
<mako@atdot.cc> [Thu, 13 Jul 2006 20:23:20 +0000 (16:23 -0400)]
Added a series of files so that elections can be created and edited and
such. There is still no functionality for running votes yet.

16 years agoCorrectly ignore the log files.
<mako@atdot.cc> [Thu, 13 Jul 2006 00:01:20 +0000 (20:01 -0400)]
Correctly ignore the log files.

16 years agoInitital scaffolding of the website plus initial work on the adding and
<mako@atdot.cc> [Wed, 12 Jul 2006 23:58:33 +0000 (19:58 -0400)]
Initital scaffolding of the website plus initial work on the adding and
editing general information for votes and list of candidates. The first
steps toward importing voters has also been added.

16 years agoCreation of new VotingBooth rails application to expose the
<mako@atdot.cc> [Tue, 11 Jul 2006 16:35:22 +0000 (12:35 -0400)]
Creation of new VotingBooth rails application to expose the
functionality of the RubyVote library.

Benjamin Mako Hill || Want to submit a patch?